Home » Them by Nathan McCall
Them Nathan McCall

Them

Nathan McCall

Published
ISBN : 9781416549154
Hardcover
339 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

The author of the bestselling memoir Makes Me Wanna Holler presents a profound debut novel -- in the tradition of Tom Wolfes Bonfire of the Vanities and Zadie Smiths White Teeth -- that captures the dynamics of class and race in todays urbanMoreThe author of the bestselling memoir Makes Me Wanna Holler presents a profound debut novel -- in the tradition of Tom Wolfes Bonfire of the Vanities and Zadie Smiths White Teeth -- that captures the dynamics of class and race in todays urban integrated communities.Nathan McCalls novel, Them, tells a compelling story set in a downtown Atlanta neighborhood known for its main street, Auburn Avenue, which once was regarded as the richest Negro street in the world.The story centers around Barlowe Reed, a single, forty-something African American who rents a ramshackle house on Randolph Street, just a stones throw from the historic birth home of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.Barlowe, who works as a printer, otherwise passes the time reading and hanging out with other men at the corner store. He shares his home and loner existence with a streetwise, twentysomething nephew who is struggling to get his troubled life back on track.When Sean and Sandy Gilmore, a young white couple, move in next door, Barlowe and Sandy develop a reluctant, complex friendship as they hold probing -- often frustrating -- conversations over the backyard fence.Members of both households, and their neighbors as well, try to go about their business, tending to their homes and jobs. However, fear and suspicion build -- and clashes ensue -- with each passing day, as more and more new whites move in and make changes and once familiar people and places disappear.Using a blend of superbly developed characters in a story that captures the essence of this countrys struggles with the unsettling realities of gentrification, McCall has produced a truly great American novel.